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THE PROBLEM

California has the weakest child pornography
possession law in the nation. The maximum
sentence is less than every other state, despite
the fact that Internet child pornography is one
of the fastest growing crimes in America,
increasing an average of 150 percent each year.
The United States Department of Justice
estimates that pornographers have recorded the
abuse of more than one million children in the
U.S. alone, with 200 new images posted daily.
The Department of Justice also reports an
increasing trend towards younger victims and
greater brutality.

SB 145 would provide a more meaningful
deterrent to some of the most serious
pornography crimes by providing increased
penalties for aggravated child pornography
possession.

BACKGROUND

SB 145 is needed because California has the
weakest child pornography possession law of
any state in the nation; no state has lower
maximum sentences. County prosecutors have
noted as an example, cases in which a person
who possesses 10,000 videos of infants and
toddlers, bound in leather and being sexually
assaulted, currently faces a maximum of three
years in state prison if prosecuted in a

California state court under Penal Code section
311.11. This is true even if the offender
possesses the material with the intent to
"groom" other children into engaging in sex
acts. Even if an offender receives the
maximum sentence, he will likely serve half of
that time - only 18 months. If prosecuted for
the same conduct in federal court, he could
receive a much longer sentence. In fact, in very
recent legislation, Congress amended the
federal child pornography statute to allow for a
maximum of 20 years' incarceration if the
images involved included a prepubescent child
or a child under the age of 12. If prosecuted in
Arizona or Texas for these crimes, the offender
could spend his life behind bars.

The current weakness in California law is due
to several factors:

1. Until 2006, California treated the conduct
described above as a misdemeanor until the
passage of Proposition 83 by the voters which
made the crime an alternate
misdemeanor/felony (wobbler). Only then
could prosecutors charge the crime as a felony.

2. Judicial decisions have held that a defendant
can only be convicted of one count of Penal
Code section 311.11 regardless of the number
of separate victims depicted in the images or
videos possessed. Additionally, an offender
may only be convicted of one count, regardless
of the number of different computers and
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storage media the offender saves the images on,
if they are in close proximity. Importantly,
however, the courts, in their opinions, invited
the Legislature to change the law to allow for
convictions that consider the volume and
dangerous nature of the contraband - just as we
do for narcotics and illegal weapons
possession.

3. The third factor causing a weakness in
California’s laws is the failure of the current
law to distinguish between regular and
egregious violations of the statute. Most other
jurisdictions have increased penalties for the
worst violators. For example, these laws
increase the sentences when the images involve
particularly young children, involve a large
number of images, involve a sadomasochistic
act, or are being used to groom a child. In the
federal system, there are many other less
egregious factors that can also increase
sentences.

The federal government has been a great
partner in combating child pornography;
however, due to the sheer volume of cases and
federal jurisdiction and resource issues, the vast
majority of child pornography cases are
prosecuted in state courts.

SUPPORT

e Ventura County District Attorney (Sponsor)
e California Association of District Attorneys
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THE SOLUTION

SB 145 would increase the potential maximum
sentences for aggravated types of child pornography
possession, including:

e Possession of more than 600 images when
those images also include more than 10
images of a child under the age of 12 years
or a prepubescent child. Single images
would count as one image. Videos would
county as 75 images.

e Possession of images that are possessed
with the intent to use them to “groom”
children to engage in sexual activity.

e Possession of images of children engaged
in sadistic or masochistic sexual situations.

e The potential penalty for these types of
aggravated crimes would be increased to 3,
5 or 7 years in state prison from a current
sentencing structure of 16 months, 2 years
or 3 years for simple possession.

e The potential penalties for previous
convicted sex offender who possess child
pornography would increase from 2, 4, or 6
years to 3, 5, or 7 years.

e These penalties would not alter a judge’s
current discretion to give probation; it
would only give an additional tool —
increased prison time — for the worst of the
worst offenders.
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